Low-temperature transport physics of carbon nanotubes, graphene, and friends


main page

group

publications

talks

posters

teaching



research group
PD Dr. A. Hüttel


research group
Prof. C. Strunk


research group
Prof. P. Hakonen








personal homepage

General remarks
  • 17.11.-10.12.2020; tuesday 14:00 EET / 13:00 CET (s.t.) and thursday 16:00 EET / 15:00 CET (s.t.)
  • Fully online via Zoom; if interested please contact me for the access data
  • Click here for the slides.
  • Lecture on 26.11. cancelled because of the QTF-SAB meeting

Lecture outline
  • Introduction
    • About Regensburg and me
    • Introducing carbon
    • Carbon nanotubes: Discovery and applications
    • Graphene: Discovery and applications
    • Quantum transport, a quick overview
  • Carbon nanotubes (I)
    • Carbon nanotube growth techniques
    • From graphene to a nanotube: zone folding and curvature
    • Measuring simple nanotube devices
    • Quantum dots and level spectroscopy
    • (More or less) single particle physics
  • Carbon nanotubes (II)
    • Cotunneling
    • Kondo effect
    • Luttinger liquid and Wigner crystal
    • Fabry-Perot interference
  • Carbon nanotubes (III)
    • Puzzles, challenges, ongoing research
    • Vibration modes
    • Classical beam mechanics
    • Detecting transversal vibration at room temperature
    • Detecting transversal vibration via Coulomb blockade
    • Mixing, noise, dissipation

legal notice / Impressum       top of page